I lost it!

1581346549m Last night, as I was putting the girls into the car, I set my Bible on top of the car. I got the girls in, and got in the car. We drop them off at Jacinda’s mom’s house every Thursday on the way to the College Group where we lead worship (description for Mrs. Anne Jackson). I must’ve forgotten to grab it off the car and after worship, I thought I left it in the car to discover it not there. Doh!

I backtracked our drive from home to church. no luck. After the service ended we drove the route from my mother-in-law’s to church. no luck. It’s kind of weird to lose a Bible. I didn’t have any personal effects or anything special in it, just notes that I’d take over the last couple years and it just feels like a very personal thing to lose. Plus, it looked like the one pictured here, it was pretty.

Jacinda and I had gone to the bookstore a couple weeks ago and I saw this new Bible that looked really cool, but I think I’ll go back to my NASB Thompson-Chain for awhile. The one I lost was the English Standard Version (ESV) which is the most recent translation (i think 2001). It was very readable, no commentary, no references, just red letters. Bye Bye Bible. I hope that someone finds you that needs you more than I do(or just as much).

6 comments

  1. Ironically, I lost a whole suitcase of Bibles once. When I was a kid, about 12 or 13, I had a huge collection of Bibles. I was drawn to the word like a mad man, and it was a solace in my crazy life (read my testimony for more).
    At any rate, my mom in one of her drunken fits decided we were going to move out of the house at 1 o’clock in the morning. I packed a sack of clothes and my suitcase full of my Bibles. The suit case got left on top of the car and we moved. To be honest, I was deeply hurt. To have every Bible gone was dramatic for me.

Leave a Reply

