I’m Confused

Norbit1 So, the other night, Jacinda and I were watching TV when we saw a preview for the new movie, Norbit, starring Eddie Murphy. He plays all the characters which includes several large women. We just turned to each other and wondered why people would go see this movie. I just don’t get the whole black guy dressed up like a big black woman thing. And Eddie’s not the first and I’m sure he’s not the last. Maybe it’s a cultural thing that I just don’t get. Jacinda said, "maybe it’s one of those things that other people think is funny, but you don’t…kind of like how you think farting is always funny!" True. A random fart is always good for a laugh. But anyways, check this out, I just don’t think this is funny at all:

Big_momma Martin Lawrence in Big Momma’s House. They actually made 2 of these!

Momma_klump Eddie Murphy in the Nutty Professor. I think I watched the first one and was amused along with the rest of you when Momma Klump chanted, "hercules, hercules!". I think there are several of these out now.

White_chicks They aren’t "big black women" but still guys obsessed with dressing up as girls. The Wayans brothers, who, I haven’t liked since "in living color" All of their movies just seem to be cheap, crass, and cliche.

And last but not least, I found a video of Kenan Thompson from Saturday Night Live, caught in the act. Can anyone help me or at least speak to the fact that you actually find these movies funny?

5 comments

  1. yes hale i totally agree and have thought the exact same think on many accounts. i just don’t get it. it’s not funny at all and it never was. so by the 10th movie or whatever its just plain stupid overkill. its really just people trying to make money from a certain sphere of our capitalistic society. but with you, i’m amazed it works. now an unexpected fart, that’s downright hilarious.

  2. Im so with you on that movie thing! My husband and I were just talking about that the other night. Oh and the fart thing is pretty darn funny!! My little girl tells me all the time “Mama, I stink so bad. I just farted”!!

  3. Im so with you on that movie thing! My husband and I were just talking about that the other night. Oh and the fart thing is pretty darn funny!! My little girl tells me all the time “Mama, I stink so bad. I just farted”!!

Leave a Reply

