any suggestions

Macbook_pro Well, I’m in the market for a new computer here pretty soon. And I’m really struggling with the couple hundred extra bucks for the 17" macbook pro. Should I do it? I wonder if any of you have the 15" or the 17" and if you’d wished you got the other, pros/cons of what you bought. Glossy/Flat screen. 2GBs of Ram or 1GB? So many questions…

I know I want the MacBook Pro, but am unsettled on the configuration so those of you that already have, please help me out!

11 comments

  1. I have a 17 and a 15. I love having the 17 for video editing and music. But sometimes I’m uncomfortable with the size. It’s not really a “laptop”, is it?
    I travel better with the 15, but when I have to do music/video on it, I miss the extra 2 inches.
    So, in other words, it’s the proverbial six of one, half-dozen of the other…

  2. I have a 15 inch pro. I do a lot of video editing and I do sometimes wish I had more screen but it isn’t that big a problem. I had a matte screen powerbook… I like the glossy much better. The more memory and hard drive the better.

  3. I have a 15 inch pro. I do a lot of video editing and I do sometimes wish I had more screen but it isn’t that big a problem. I had a matte screen powerbook… I like the glossy much better. The more memory and hard drive the better.

  4. Have the 15″, love it. Easy to travel with, and I do video editing on it as well. Really, the 2″ doesn’t have that big of an effect to me. I’d sacrifice that for portability anyday. Gotta have the glossy screen unless you are going to regularly work outdoors, then having the glossy might give some glare. The more memory, the better!

  5. I’ve got the 15″ pro with the 2G of memory… easy to travel with, great for video editing and music. Glad I didn’t go with the 17″ as it seemed too big to lug around. I also debated and ended up going with the flat screen instead of glossy… the glossy gives a better image than what others might see when video/graphics are exported.

  6. Have the 15″ and wouldn’t even think about going with the bulkiness of the 17″ unless I was editing pro video on the road. I edit stills on the 15″ with ease. One suggestion: DO NOT buy the mighty mouse, it sucks.

  7. i had a 17″ PowerBook for a couple years before getting my 15″ Macbook Pro. i was nervous about going to a smaller size … but now i’m so glad i did. traveling with it is so much better. i considered the glossy screen but went with the regular matte screen based on everything i heard from a bunch of buddies that work at my local Apple store. then again, i do lots of web and print design so i need the colors to look right … and glossy screws that up a little.

  8. i’ve had a 17″ and 15″ (pc, but i’m still pretty cool) i definitely like the extra couple inches and i haven’t had a problem with portability. However my wife constantly assures me that bigger isn’t necessarily better…so…

  9. You’ve really been speaking to my heart lately. That Flash game, The Office, and Macs. I think we could be good friends. I’ve got 2 15″ers, one w/glossy screen and 2 gigs of ram, and the other w/matte and 1 gig. I love the look of the glossy screen, but I think the color is not quite as accurate on it as the matte, though it looks amazing. One person I work w/ has the 17″, and it is freakin’ massive. Seems a little too big to be very portable. I would suggest saving the money, buying a 15″ glossy, and using that extra money to load it up w/ram. Let us know what you get. I need more Mac guys around, I get a lot of guff from a church full of windows people who don’t get it. Oh well, I’m converting them slowly.

Leave a Reply

