first’s…again.

Corona1 This story starts last weekend when Jacinda and I went out to dinner and a movie with Carlos and Heather. We hit up one of our favorite Mexican restaurants before the flick, Casa Corona, and got some dinner. The girls both got some fru-fru drinks and Carlos ordered a Corona, the standard order for mexican food, right?

Well, call me crazy, but I must have super sensitive taste buds, and I cannot stand the taste of alcohol. It doesn’t stop there. Stuff like coffee (even the frappacino, stuffed with sugar stuff), beer, and tea all taste very bitter to me. Hard liquor tastes like cough syrup and makes me gag, and champagne and wine are both out of the question. When we were in Hawaii, we would both order Pina Colada’s, but mine were always "virgin". Not because I was the designated driver, because I thought the rum in her’s was disgusting. I consider it a blessing, because alcohol is an expensive habit and face it, a lot of screwed up stuff happens because of it. On the other hand, it’s very social (work, parties, some family events) and whenever I’m offered a drink and refuse it, the next 30 minutes are full of people laughing with/at me for my weird situation.

The part that bugs me the worst is that "image" that people have of Christians and us being "goody-to-shoes" or "holier than thou". I never want someone to get the impression that I think I am better than them in any way, well, maybe at Ping Pong, but that’s different. Seriously though, alcohol is one of those taboo things that the older, legalistic believer would look down upon and the young "relevant" generation would almost look down on you for not drinking, smoking and cursing. It’s a weird world and I don’t think we got it figured out. Anyways, what I’m trying to say is, I don’t personally have a problem with a buddy having a beer, a drink, or whatever, if it’s not a big deal to them. It’s when people make it a big deal that it drives me crazy. "oh, man, this guiness is the best thing ever" it’s flavored liquid for goodness sake. I feel like many people can’t even have fun unless they are drinking. wow, whole other post coming…

Really long story, short(er): I tasted Carlos’ Corona that night of our dinner because of the normal conversation, and I actually liked it with all the limes in there. That night after the cliff jump, Carlos said he had a Corona for me and I was kind of excited, but…no limes. It was nasty, but I was determined to conquer another first…and so, for the first time in my 28 years of existence, I finished a beer. But, I think for the future, I’ll stick with my Diet Pepsi.

6 comments

  1. Mr. Hale,
    You don’t know me. I found you on Anne’s blog some time ago and have been reading & enjoying your stuff for a while now. However, depsite the fact you don’t me at all the last two “firsts” posts you have put up really hit home.
    First I read the jump post and I totally understood what you were talking about. I am 26 and I don’t even jump into pools of water much less off of rock faces. I had a cute little post ready to respond and then my internet filter at work ate it.
    Then while reading other RSS feeds this one updates. Two months ago at the age of 26 I had my first beer in an Irish Pub. Mine was a Blue Moon (another fruity beer with oranges). I have now come to the realization that I LIKE beer but I am worshipping in a “conservative environment” in Eastern Tennessee where beer drinking is akin to Satan worshipping.
    Much more to muse on over your writings and much more to enjoy, I hope,but thanks for being so open & vulnerable.
    Sincerely,
    The Mattchews

  2. Mr. Hale,
    You don’t know me. I found you on Anne’s blog some time ago and have been reading & enjoying your stuff for a while now. However, depsite the fact you don’t me at all the last two “firsts” posts you have put up really hit home.
    First I read the jump post and I totally understood what you were talking about. I am 26 and I don’t even jump into pools of water much less off of rock faces. I had a cute little post ready to respond and then my internet filter at work ate it.
    Then while reading other RSS feeds this one updates. Two months ago at the age of 26 I had my first beer in an Irish Pub. Mine was a Blue Moon (another fruity beer with oranges). I have now come to the realization that I LIKE beer but I am worshipping in a “conservative environment” in Eastern Tennessee where beer drinking is akin to Satan worshipping.
    Much more to muse on over your writings and much more to enjoy, I hope,but thanks for being so open & vulnerable.
    Sincerely,
    The Mattchews

  3. I, like you, am not the biggest fan of alcohol. I will have a beer every now and again, but I don’t exactly throw them back one after the other. In the church I grew up in it would have been a “sin” to drink. But the church I serve at now it is okay — in moderation. When I went to the pastors house and he offered me a beer, I knew I had found my church home.
    But it is funny how people can become snobs towards different things in life. Beer being one of them. As you said, it is just flavored liquid.

  4. Some Christians go so far as to sell the stuff…:)
    For me wine is as complex as food, something that is never the same everytime I uncork a bottle. It is complicated as some of my family looks down on my passion, though some have begun to enjoy pairing food and wine at dinner.

  5. Congrats on your first beer and cliff jump!
    I must say I’ve tasted 100 different beers and they all taste the same — like urine. Now I enjoy a good beer once and a while when I watch football (because it’s manly – like cigars – which I also don’t like but still do)… but I’m with you – give me a soda over a brew any day.
    I’m also bugged by the eccentric people that talk about how great certain beers are, or how I’ve got to try THIS beer, or THAT beer. Who cares?! It’s all just really bad tasting stuff that makes you fat and/or buzzed. I think some Christians think drinking beer makes you hip & cool – kinda like cigarettes in high school. If they only knew…
    … enough ranting.
    You’re very courageous!

Leave a Reply

