One of my proudest moments

DSCN5879 R I D Cimetière de Bracieux
There are certain moments in life that you are just proud of. Those moments that when you look back, you will remember. Days like when I married my beautiful wife, the days when our girls were born, passing all my securities license exams, and leading worship in the "big church" service at my church. Yesterday, was one of those days for me.

You see, I’m a financial advisor which means I manage people’s investments (stocks, bonds, mutual funds, insurance, etc.) and guide them on the journey from working, to retirement, to leaving an inheritance. My clients and I get closer over the years because of the intimate nature of dealing with someone’s financial well-being. I love what I do and really enjoy meeting with people, but the people I met with last night are my favorite clients.

My Parents.

We talked for 2 hours about the way the market works, different investment strategies, how I basically do my job, and it was just fun. Fun to share with them what they have given me the opportunity to become and do. I fealt like it was one of those full circle moments.

My parents raised me with love, always encouraging me in what I persued, supporting me in sports, scholastics and in the arts. I believe I am successful today, largely because of my well-rounded upbringing.

I feel proud. I feel proud that they are my parents. I feel proud that I make them proud. I feel so proud that even though they’ve known me longer than anyone else on this Earth, that they still trust me with these big decisions. Thanks mom and dad…for everything.

3 comments

  1. Ok, I’m pretty sure your mom will cry when she reads this, maybe even your dad. I love you so much. I love that you’re passionate about what you do and the people you do it for. Your post is called “pride” and that’s exactly how I feel about you. I am so proud to call you mine. xoxoxo

  2. a very cool post. i have always wanted to hear my father say he is proud of me. i am so glad that you have that with your family, i think it is one of the elements needed for men to feel (and be) well rounded.

  3. You’re so right…I started crying as soon as I figured out what he was saying. I AM so proud of Brian and feel so blessed to have such a wonderful family.

Leave a Reply

