Searching for the wrong thing?

Searching_2
I am currently reading Donald Miller’s book, "Searching For God Knows What". Another great one by Mr. Miller. Here’s a quote from my reading last night,

"The ever-overquoted C.S. Lewis said it this way in his book Mere Christianity: "Most of us are not really approaching the subject in order to find out what Christianity says: We are approaching it in the hope of finding support from Christianity for the views of our own party. We are looking for an ally where we are offered either a Master or — a Judge"
And that’s the thing about religious; it isn’t this safe place in the soul you can go, it has just as many booby traps as any other thing you can get yourself into. It’s a bloody brothel, in fact. Jesus even says there will be people who will heal other people, but when they die He is going to say He didn’t know them. It is somewhat amazing to me, once again, that all of Christianity, all our grids and mathematics and truths and different groups subscribing to different theological ideas, boils down to our knowing Jesus and His knowing us."

You see, Jesus is a non-negotiable. I have been told by many people that they have problems believing certain things about the Bible, it’s origin, or a certain issue. That sucks, but God’s not changing his mind about the things He said, so I guess it’s us who needs to re-evaluate. But, the hard part, I think, is understanding what He has said, but in knowing Him, we can start to see what He is doing and what He thinks is best for our life, which ultimately…is Him.

4 comments

  1. I think that I need to read that book. So Brooke (the girl who just arrived and will be teaching the kids for 2 years) and I have just begun this new friendship and we are getting in the groove of what that looks like and have discovered that us both struggle with the whole Grace acceptance thing. We were talking about the devil the other day and him stealing, killing and destroying us and what that actually looks like. In reality, we don’t even think about those things. Really, I doubt that most of us Christ followers really, for reals take that seriously. So then we were talking about Grace and being serious about that, and it was a hard core conversation because why have we been wasting so much time on stupid stuff? I think that- that conversation always comes around every now and again…but why? Shouldn’t it change our lives in a real way? Shouldn’t we actually be living differently and full of passion without worry of offending somebody along the way? Not that we have to be social retards, but that we are so in love with people and with service that we rock the world rather then just sitting in it. Grrr. This whole thing makes me crazy because then you get the other side who are like, “I am serving, I send in my 10% and volunteer in the nursery every Sunday bla bla…” I tend to believe that those “things” are just things. Yeah…they are great, and God probably called you to do them, but are you really ROCKING the WORLD for GOD’S GLORY? Or are you just comfortable? I remember being comfortable. I was comfortable in youth ministry for 6 years. Every Sunday, Wednesday and whenever else the kids needed something. But God was calling me, and pulling me further and I was too whatever to respond. I would venture to believe that most of us are in the same place in our lives. There are times that I am comfortable here…and I know that I am not being obedient, but I am too selfish, too tired, too whatever to move my body or form the words to go talk to somebody. I hate that. But I am quickly discovering that here, in this place, it really is a matter of life and death. I simply can not be a part of that. Of not doing anything. Not anymore.

  2. Hey Brian,
    My comments were not sent to me from my Photography page and I notice you commented from a while ago. so here goes.
    Wow dude!! you got the 50mm 1.4f That’s great.
    Can’t wait to see the pictures it turns out.
    —-
    How was that? 🙂
    Lots of love from down south.
    Snap

Leave a Reply

