book vs. movie

Prince-caspian
I just finished reading Prince Caspian and we saw the movie opening weekend. I really enjoyed both, but man the movie took some serious liberties. the whole end is completely different. I don't know if they felt that they needed to spice it up or what.

 

The only thing I really had a hard time with in the movie was the Old-Narnians. I mean, I know CS Lewis wrote about Centaurs and Minotaurs, but they just look kind of cheesy on the big screen. It's like the fantastical creatures are better in my own imagination than they are in a movie. 

everyone else and there mom have already talked about the movie, so i won't go on any further.
2 comments

  1. I haven’t read the book yet, but loved the movie (probably because I haven’t read the book yet!) My “hard core Narnia” friends hated the movie, but they’re real judgemental and critical about lots of stuff, so I didn’t pay thier opinions much attention. I still loved the movie. I just hate how I can’t buy one of the songs on itunes unless I buy the whole album! Ggrr…

  2. I have read the book (the whole set) many times over. There is something about the deep allegories Lewis placed there.
    At any rate, on to the movie. I have mixed feelings. On the one hand, they took liberties and I am don’t like it. On the other hand, Peter storming the castle instead of waiting on Aslan was a very real spiritual allegory for most of us.

Leave a Reply

