Daddy’s Little Girls

DSC_0007
As you know, Jacinda is off in the ATL still and after a long week at work, I met my parents and the girls for dinner at Mah’s Terriyaki and then took the girls home with me. I missed them so much. Melania wouldn’t stop squeezing my neck! I, being the jealous type, decided that since mom was out having fun, we needed to do some of our own damage. Something not too far away, but far enough to make it special for the girls, you know?

Hume Lake. 

This place holds so many memories for me starting in Jr. High @ Sugar Pine even up until my last Men’s retreat about 2 years ago. I told the girls the night before and Kiara was amped. She said it took her a long time to fall asleep because she was so excited. 
DSC_0004
Of course, we didn’t get going as early as I had hoped, but we made it there by noon. The drive was long and not very scenic until the last 45 minutes, then just beautiful mountains. Seriously, look at this picture out my window. Why would you choose to live in this area? It’s so dry and dead looking. Anyways. 

There were 4 things that Kiara wanted to do, so I let her pick what order they would be in. Boating, milkshakes, hiking, and general “checking the place out”. 

DSC_0012
Boating was first, so after a not-so-quick trip to the bathroom with 2 girls in a 2×3 foot stall, we put down our deposit, got our life jackets, and rowed out. It was a really nice day and they both took turns “rowing”. They were so cute in their life jackets and we ended up finding a group of ducks and feeding them all of our snacks. Kiara would’ve thrown me overboard if it could’ve made the ducks stay longer. She was so into it!

DSC_0032
I’m trying to think, but I’m pretty sure it was Melania’s first time on a boat like that. She had a couple little tumbles in the boat, but she loved it too.

When we went to go turn in the boats, the girls at the boat shack were way into the girls and so I asked Kiara, “what do you want to do next?” The girl behind the counter was whispering to her, “milkshakes”, but Kiara yells out, “Hiking!”. I think Jacinda is raising our kids right if they choose hiking over milkshakes. I know that’s not my doing!

DSC_0046
Our hike was more of a walk, but I let her pick where to go and she had brought a map that she had made the night before for our hike. We walked up and down, through dirt, down slopes and stairs and ended up by the gift shop. We saw the “blob” on our little exploration. Lots of sore backs and necks from that thing! 

Next we found ourselves at the Snack Shop, where we got Cheeseburgers, Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, fries, and drinks. We sat outside, but there were tons of flies. Melania kept getting all hot and bothered by them. “shoo fwy, shoo” she kept saying. 

DSC_0053
After the lunch festivities I went in and ordered the shakes. Pink for kiara, which means any flavor as long as the outcome is pink, which this time was sherbet, and Melania and I shared a Cookies and Cream shake. I tried to get them to pose for a picture, but they were pretty into the ice cream at this point. I grabbed some random person to take a picture of all three of us. It’s below, but Melania’s look on her face is like, “who the heck are you?”

DSC_0058
We got cleaned up, the girls threw a couple rocks in the river and we drove home. They both kept telling me how much they loved me on the way home which was awesome. I would reach my hand back to pat them and they’d both grab onto it, just gripping my fingers tight. Best Daddy-Daughters day yet. Here are a couple more pictures from the day:
DSC_0016 DSC_0035 DSC_0055
9 comments

  1. That sounds like such a great day. There is nothing like being out just dad and the girls or girl. There are things I miss about Cali and Hume Lake is one of them. I love the CO Mountains but the Sierras have something special about them all there own. There are a loot of memories at Hume. I hope the rest of your time with the girls is great. So I figured out the twitter thing too I think. I guess we’ll see.

  2. wow all i can say is that’s alot of details and i loved reading it. your girls are so blessed to have a dad like you. it’s a rare thing to have a dad that wants to spend time with their kids.
    i know for me personally i always enjoy the times my dad took/takes me on adventures and spends the day with my siblings and me like that..
    (:
    aww.. i hope you continue have a great time with them while your wife is gone.
    ps.
    i loved the pictures.

  3. Love the pictures, especially the one of you and Melania. Did Kiara take that? Wow! Great job! I have a lot of great memories of me with my dad, too, and most of them involved water! Looks like a perfect day for you and your girls. love, Mom/Grandma

  4. How sweet! First of all, I’m sure you’d be glad to know that your cousin Ranger Mo would be (and will be after I tell him) very pleased with the fact that the girls wore life jackets. Second, feeding ducks is something my grandpa took us to do. I cherish those memories like none other. Lastly, like it needs to be said,it’s so obvious, but you’re girls are just precious!

  5. What a fun day! It looks like everyone had such a great time! I can’t wait until my little guy is old enough to enjoy trips like that. We’re heading to Manhattan beach in less than two weeks, and I understand you guys had a blast there too 🙂

  6. Hello! You do not know me but your wife is making the flower girl tutu’s for my upcoming wedding! I just think you are an awesome dad and I hope that my “soon to be husband” can be inspired by you! I picture him doing these types of things with our future children! 🙂

Leave a Reply

