office debate update

I assure you all that that last post was with a sarcastic tone. We weren't really arguing about what's wrong and right. I just like to joke around and being a heretic. It keeps people from saying, "Jesus loves me and that's all I need to know". We were just stretching each other by exercising our theological muscles. We actually had another great talk today. I think spiritual language for this is "iron sharpens iron".

I assure you that I do not know enough or assume that I am the final authority on anything. 

And that last statement was just me and my friend laughing at how we thought we were funny because we are nerds, not because we think we know anything for sure. Obviously, there are unknowns in Scripture and theology, but that shouldn't stop us from trying to learn and seeking to know the Truth, even though Jesus is the Truth. 

The fact is Calvin was a man, both of these theologies were created by man, so…neither is perfect.

Alright, I'm done. Unless you know me pretty well, then you don't realize that half the stuff that comes out of my mouth is a joke. Hence the title of my blog "Hale-Yeah!"
6 comments

  1. Its a bummer that you have to give disclaimers to what you write or say, but people may not always know where you are coming from. I love you and love that you don’t take yourself too seriously. You’re my favorite! Can’t wait to go on a date with you tonight. xoxoxo

  2. LOL! I thought your sarcasm came through rather clearly! But then, I know you and Daniel both enough to salt any conversation you two might have together with a bit of it! 🙂
    No worries on my end!

  3. The way I see it: I am such a Calvinist that I am not going to try to convert you to Calvinism, that’s God’s job(get it?). I do, however, enjoy a good bit of Piper and love a rigorous debate.
    BTW Brian- Thank you for displaying my true theological position as “Sovereigntist,” much less controversial.

Leave a Reply

