Wonderlust – A Spiritual Travelogue for the Adventourous Soul

Wonderlust-vicki-kuyper
This book was given to me. Actually, by the publishing company who is distributing it, purely to review it on my blog. I was skeptical to say the least…

I got it actually awhile ago, but I kind of read it one chapter at a time inbetween other things. It's set up almost as a mini-Bible Study in that it has questions and a little journaling section in the back of each chapter. 

The book is filled with spiritual lessons that Vicki, the author, has learned over the years in her travels around the world. If you are at all interested in visiting places that the tours normally go and don't, then you'll like it. Some chapters are more spiritually focused and some are more detail about the place she is visiting. 

There were a couple spots from California which I had never heard of, but she actually did a chapter on Montana de Oro, which is where I proposed to my wife. 

She talked one time about her trip to Albertville, France to watch the Winter Olympics and Dan Jansen in the speed skating. If you remember, he went through several Olympic games and other races without winning a medal. Finally he one Gold and she talks about her conversion to being a sports fan and her reaction to him winning, later when she was home:

"From the couch in my family room, I was cheering him on like a wild woman. If my family hadn't known better, they would have thought they were in the presence of a sports fan. When I finally cross life's finish line, I'd sure love to see God cheer like that for me." – Vicki Kuyper

I don't know why, but that hit me.

All in all, it was a good book. I liked how much it changed, all the little details of international locations and insight into her life. It's not a "relevant generation" type book, but still very good. I give it 3.5 out 5 tuk-tuk rides!
Leave a Reply

