What’s the norm?

I was taljimg to a guy today who came to visit my office from san francisco. We were talking shop until he saw the ultrasound pick of my -3 month old unborn child. He asked all surprised, “are you having a kid?” I answered, “yep. Number three”. You should’ve seen his face!

He immediately asked how old I was.

“29, but we got married at 21”

He was the same age as me and had just gotten married last year. His first reaction to all this was to immediately start hurling curse words. “&)@: I can’t believe you @/”)@)& have 2 and are £~*¥+£#* going to have @;+^*@£ three!

Hilarious. Am I really that far from the norm?

Are you married? Kids? How old were you when it happenned?

From my iPhone. What's the norm?

20 comments

  1. Age 29. Married 2 1/2 years. No kids yet, and probably won’t happen for a couple of more years. Either I am really behind or you are really ahead. But hey, my parents had 3 by the age of 24! So, who knows. My boss is 43 and she just had her first.

  2. Married at 24, first kid at 25, second kid at 26, third kid at 28 with the third, will be 29 with the fourth.
    When I don’t have my kids with me I get asked if this is my first. When I tell them it’s my fourth, mouths drop to the floor and I get told I look too young to have four kids. The massive crows feet at the corners of my eyes and frown lines on my forehead LOVE that comment.

  3. Wow, after reading all of those comments I feel way behind. 26, live by myself, well I have a dog now… Second date tomorrow. Oh, and no kids, that would probably get me fired at this point.

  4. well you know our story- I was 22 when we got married, Dave 25 and no kids.
    In response to your question though, “am I really that far from the norm?” i think the answer is there is no norm…. but you guys definitely are on the younger spectrum of things. Our kids are gonna be waaaay younger than yours, which kind of stinks because as cousins they won’t grow up together, but cest la vie. Because of the way people/life/economy/jobs/feminism/medicine is today, I feel like most people wait a little longer to have kids than they used to.
    love ya!
    -jess

  5. Married at 20, first baby at 25, who is now a little over 18 months. Not planning #2 for awhile, but I really think it depends upon the way people are raised- when family is a priority, it seems people get married and want their own family sooner- and I’ve never once regretted being married at 20 or “So young!” hehe.

  6. what’s “taljimg”?
    Morgan and I will both be 25 when we get married. Hopefully we have at least 2 babies by the time we’re 30.
    There are A LOT of young parents at my work. Most of my students (ages 4-5) were born when their parents were 19-21 (and most of them weren’t/aren’t married). We had a student last year who’s parents started when they were 12 & 14. They have 3 kids. And are my age. Yeah.

  7. Married less than a month before I turned 21 (and less than a month before NerdDad turned 25). First kid at 25, 2nd at 27, 3rd at 29 and 4th at 31. So I am 33 with 4 kids 7 and 1/2 down. People thought we were freaks when we got married and people think we are freaks now;). Throw homeschooling on that….

  8. I think depending on where you live, here in Los Angeles most of my friends are in their thirties and a lot are not married or have kids yet. One of my friends was pregnant and at age 34 she was the YOUNGEST person at her lamass class.

  9. I think depending on where you live, here in Los Angeles most of my friends are in their thirties and a lot are not married or have kids yet. One of my friends was pregnant and at age 34 she was the YOUNGEST person at her lamass class.

Leave a Reply

