Upgrade… (part 1 of 3)

Mens-health
I was recently reading Men's Health magazine and they had these "upgrades" for 2009. The one that caught my eye was #3. 

Upgrade Your Wealth – the recovery plan

The subtitle was important and good for everyone. It read, 

"We know-2008 was bad. But it was bad for just about everyone. Pull ahead this year with these simple steps."

#1 Review last year. 

You need a budget. I had a client that I sat down with last year and her account was a mess when I got it. Invested in all kinds of random things, miscellaneous money coming out in differing amounts. I told her that she needed a plan. She said "fine, as long as you don't use the B word" I quickly ran through all of the possibilites in my head and before I thought of one she said, "Budget". I went through the list of things that I wanted to address and she looked at me and asked me, "if I were your mother, what would you tell me". I replied, 

"mom, you need a budget" 

She is no longer my client today…

Little things really add up. The article said that "appetizers and drinks account for 35% of a restaurant bill" and suggested doing wine and cheese at home before going out. I'd say the most important thing you can do is actually lay out all your receipts or go through your account online and see where everything is going. If you've never done this before, it'll blow your mind. Try it for a month. Track every penny and see where your money is really going.
One comment

Leave a Reply

