Bike Your Drive!

bike-your-drivewell, it’s official. I sold my car yesterday and I rode my bike to work today. We are officially a “one car” family. It’s already presented some different challenges, but nothing we couldn’t work out.

REI has this application for the iPhone that goes along with their “Bike Your Drive” promotion. It tracks, via GPS, my route to work, keeping my speed, time, distance, elevation changes, and average speed through a website called EveryTrail.com. It’s really cool and will calculate all my rides and keep them in a log for me. It’s gonna be pretty cool to see after a couple of months really how many miles I’m turning.

Just so you know, I’m not doing this because of some “green” campaign, although I love God’s creation. I’ve wanted to do it for a long time, but just needed the push. It’s cheaper, healthier, and it gets me outside which is a big change from sitting behind  a 19″ monitor for 10+ hours a day. So far, it’s been great. I’ve ridden a handful of times and it’s actually very relaxing.

One comment

  1. Dude bravo! I’d love to do that for the $$$ alone I’d save in gas! Seeing how it takes me a half hour easily to drive to work and we live in South Louisiana, I don’t think this will happen too soon 😦
    Kudos though man!

Leave a Reply

