America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride?

Today, I was supposed to be in Lake Tahoe participating in my first ever century ride. That’s 100 miles around the Lake, out to Truckee and back. I was all psyched up to do it with a big group of guys but I knew awhile back it wasn’t going to happen. It’s a pretty big bummer because I paid for it already and everything. There were no refunds on the ride, but I was able to cancel the hotel at least with no cost.

And, as it turns out, they are having some terrible weather. Because of the rain, I guess lots of people aren’t coming. So, they issued a special announcement that they would at least send out our rider’s bags if we requested. That made me feel a little better so I’ll at least get a t-shirt and some snack food for the future. They also allowed you to transfer your registration to a future event in September, but it’s going to be awhile before I’m able to get back on the bike, probably 4-6 months because of my back surgery.

This is definitely an event I want to do, so depending on how well my recovery and physical therapy goes I’m either going to aim to do it in 2012 or 2013.

Leave a Reply

